Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Steel column with base plate and anchor rods. Fixed or Pinned support? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

rteja

Mechanical
Aug 19, 2018
AE
I'm new to structural design. I've always considered steel column bases / steel beam end connections with anchors as fixed support.
I've noticed that my manager sometimes considers them as pinned type and sometimes fixed type. (for very similar applications)

This confuses me. Can someone shed some light on this?

Thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It is rare that a column base is fully fixed, or fully pinned. Most are considered to be pinned, because fixing column bases is expensive. Fixation requires first that the footing can withstand the bending without rotation, then that the connection is rigid.

I agree with everything hokie66 says, however I would also include that for many considerations a base plate with all of the anchor rod holes inside the column flanges and toward the center of the column flanges will be primarily pinned and a rigid base plate with many of the anchor rod holes outside the column flanges will be primary fixed if the foundation will support fixed column moments. If you are using a HSS section then consideration of how rigid the base plate is will affect whether or not the base plate is fixed or pinned.

There are methods of analysis that will predict the moment capacity of the base of the column depending on rigidity of the base plate and anchor rod hole spacing and pattern.

Jim

Hi,
I had this confusion long back but found the answer after a long time.

To see the same base plate can be considered as pinned or fixed based on you assumption.

Case (I) When base plate is considered as pinned.