Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Storage temperature for crude oil and other questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

fracontr

Chemical
Aug 7, 2003
CL
Hello:

I am a young process engineer. I need mix into the tank 2 crude oils, and i must design an aboveground storage tank for a final crude oil (35ºAPI), networking capacity for determining, normal ambient temperature 11ºC and min temperature -15ºC , max temperature 28. Wind 180 km/h, sismic zone 2B-UBC.

I have a few questions about this:

-Exist references to determine the suitable time of residence or some recommended minimum?

-Which is the recommended temperature of storage, how many degrees above the pour point would be recommended to store the crude oil?

-What criteria are used to determine the non-working capacity (volume below the bottom invert of the outlet nozzle)?

-Which is the recommended time of agitation to reach a homogenous mixture?

Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you