Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Suction Strainer x Cavitation 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mateus_R

Mechanical
Mar 15, 2018
BR
Hello,

I'm studying some topics in Fluid Power and I found on internet a recommendation to not install a suction strainer in the reservoir, on the suction line of the pump. This recommendation comes from the high pressure losses from the strainer, which could lead to cavitation problems in the pump? Or maybe from a maintenance point of view?

Thank you in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I don't care for suction strainers. They are useful for a startup of a new unit or after replacing suction piping to catch weld slag and tape measurers. But, they should be removed after four hours in service. Permanently installed strainers will tend to drop suction pressure, making cavitation much more likely. If the solids are small enough to pass through the pump, you are usually better off to let them pass. The only other case where I supported the installation of permanent suction strainers was where we had chronic scrap metal making it to the pump (tray clips, nuts and bolts, tower hardware). Then I would install a strainer with the largest possible holes. The manufacturer of the pump should provide a value for the largest sphere that the pump can pass. Make the holes slightly smaller than that. In some of our pumps, we are forced to install suction strainers with smaller holes. In these, the strainer is not there to protect the pump, but is there to protect downstream equipment (usually heat exchangers) that could be plugged off.