Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Supporting a 30' sign 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

mustangs

Mechanical
Jul 23, 2002
CA
I am a mechanical engineer and have been given some sturctural work to do.
We are erecting a 30 ft. tall sign that is 8 ft. wide and about 15 in thick. It's one of those large sign that you see outside of a plaza/stripmall.

It's supported by two square posts that are about 12 in X 12 in. I need to know what calculations I need to do and if possible where to find the equations.

Unfortunately I haven't done any sturctural calculations since second year of university so I'm a little rusty.

Any help is greatly appreciated as always

Thanks

Marc

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You need to calculate your wind loads, which would be described in your local or state building code, then design the columns and footings appropriately.
Ethically, if you're not sure what you're doing, shouldn't you find someone who is? Like architects "designing" structures.....

It is basically a cantilever fixed on the ground. If the gravity loads are small, it will be nearly entirely governed by wind loads that you may take from the applicable code, say IBC, UBC or ASCE 7. If you want an outright upperbound in non-tornado areas take 300 kgf/m2 or 60 psf.

If you want an exact evaluation you better make a structural model contemplating everything at hand.

For the simplified thing

you will determine moment on every of the stems by

M=q·L^2/2

where M is the governing moment at the service level
q is the tributary wind load per unit of length (here height), factored or not depending which code you are thinking to use.

L is the whole length (total height of the cantilever)