Swivel Wheel Offset 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Toranag9

Agricultural
May 20, 2024
US
Hello gentlemen,

I fairly new to the forum and I am not an engineer just trying to learn as much as I can and grow my skills in the drafting area.
I have been tasked with figuring out why we are having such a hard time making this crazy wheel turn with the machine.
(I have attached a picture.) This is off a stockyard elevator where there are 2 wheels on one side that rotate with hydraulic cylinders and drive with some planetary wheel hubs.
The other side of the elevator has two crazy wheels like the one I attached, the machine weight is about 14000lbs according to SolidWorks. That is pretty accurate to what we physically have.
Now I was doing some research and I may be wrong but I found that increasing the wheel offset should be easier to rotate. Can you guys help me determine whether this is true and what I might be able to do to make this system work better. Also the Wheel is a 26x12 turf master form Eastbay tire. Please let me know if there are other things I may need to consider.

Thanks in advance!

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=0327d505-c6ce-4335-a51f-b1ab563c3c87&file=WHEEL_OFFSET.png
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The "offset" appears to be caster, the distance from the contact patch to the place the turning axis intersects the ground. Think of the turning axis as the place force is placed on the lever that turns the tire, scrubbing the rubber on the ground. The greater the caster the longer the lever and so the easier to turn the tire. However, it also puts a higher load on the bracket that holds the turning axis for the same reason - increased leverage.

Keeping the tire inflated to the highest pressure it can handle safely will make the contact patch smaller and therefore allow the tire to turn more easily.

WHEEL_OFFSET_vfk6fc.png

Thanks for your response Dave.