Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Technical Knowledge 10

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moonstone

Civil/Environmental
Oct 29, 2004
US
What is the extent of technical knowledge that project managers need to possess. Can someone with 2-3 years of experience get a Project Management Certification and become a Project Manager. I know of people in the IT industry who with 2 yrs of experience, do in for a PM certification and get high paying jobs in the area of Project Management. My background is Civil Engineering, and I feel stuck. I feel as if I will have to spend years gaining technically advanced before I can get anywhere. Is this true?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It varies widely for different engineering discipline. But for civil or structural, I feel that project manager should be at a level where, as a minimum, he/she understands the design process and understand the work the designers are performing.

I've witnessed project managers that are so fresh you start to wonder what he/she is managing.

You don't have to be the most technical individual to manage but at least have attained some level of technical competency before becoming a project manager.

Outside of civil/structural, I have no evidence that even a high school education is required.

I wish I were kidding.

Mike Halloran
NOT speaking for
DeAngelo Marine Exhaust Inc.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL, USA

Most MBA and management training programs agree with Mike. I distinctly remember Zenger-Miller training that claimed that "anyone" was capable of managing an engineering organization.

TTFN

I've worked with a couple of Tier 1 suppliers who use keen young graduates as project managers.