Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

TEDDS vs. Mathcad - comments? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

JAE

Structural
Jun 27, 2000
US
Just looking for anyone with knowledge of both software packages as to their relative merits, problems, etc. for use in structural engineering.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm a beginner in regards to both but from what I understand about Tedds its more like a spreadsheet in word format. You can't solve a system of equations simultaneously. I haven't had the chance to do much with it yet though. However the library side of the program is great if you prefer doing hand calcs. I'm an EIT and its a great learning tool. Their help is great as well.

TEDDS appears to be solely directed at structural calculations and documentation. I've only seen the Lite version, so I have no idea how the sheet was created, or what else it's capable of doing.

Ostensibly, Mathcad should be capable of doing most of what TEDDS can do, but with a lot more work, since the code documentation, material properties, and section properties are not specifically integrated into the program. However, Mathcad is a general purpose calculation program, and can do a lot of other things that might not be of particular interest for a structural analyst. Nonetheless, Roark and Young calculations have been recreated in Mathcad, as have a number of other user-supplied calculations. However, bear in mind that Mathcad's documentation format is definitely not as clean looking as that of TEDDS.

So, it boils down to how narrow are your interests, and what you intend to do with the programs. Given an unlimited choice, having both programs would be the ideal case, since the overlap in capability, while substantial, is not 100%.

TTFN