Thinking about pursuing an M.B.A. and want to seek help from employer 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

YoungProfessional

Industrial
Aug 16, 2010
US
Hello everybody,
I stumbled across this board a few weeks ago and have found the information on here to be of great wealth. I graduated with a B.S. two years ago and recently passed my E.I.T. examination. I have been working for an engineering firm that specializes in electrical engineering since I graduated. I am grateful for my recent successes, but I feel as if something is missing in my career.
As far back as I can remember, I have had high aspirations of being a well qualified, successful professional in an industry for which I am passionate. I am not sure if I am going to remain in my current job position for my entire life and have pondered the idea of pursuing an M.B.A. degree. I would like to ask the upper management of my company to see if they will help with the costs of my future education. While many people would not hesitate to ask this type of question, I am nervous because my plan is not related to our line of business. I may be granted management possibilities in the future with this company, but I do not want to make my employers believe that I am not loyal to engineering and that I will leave upon graduation.
I am seeking advice from anybody that can point me in the right direction. In the end, I feel that I will be happiest in a technical, business related field where the sky is the limit. Any help is greatly appreciated. It is nice to meet you all.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

In my line of work, it's not common for employers to pay for education not directly related to the industry.

Some employers will pay for a masters in engineering and for any other education relating to or directly benefiting the company. I suspect your company would conclude you do not desire to continue in engineering if you pursue an MBA.

The answer will always be "NO", unless you ask.