Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Thinking of doing an LLB (Law degree). Comments?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Col

Civil/Environmental
Sep 6, 2001
IE
Hi
I am a graduate civil engineer with one year experience. My current work is not exactly what I envisaged leaving college so I am thinking of taking a new direction. Any thoughts on Law coupled with engineering?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I remember that my professors said that an engineer would be a likely candidate for getting a law degree. I would think that patent law would be something of interest. Having a law degree would also be handy on your resume and might lead you where you would prefer to work. Best of luck :)

JeffdlS

I agree with JEFFDIS. An engineering student certainly has the techincal or logical and mathematical background necessary to cut through the details in the legal field.

Patent law is certainly an option, but I would think better for a mechanical engineer or similar type. The construction industry is another option. There are ample opportunities to practice in construction claim mitigation and other aspects. Also, don't rule out corporate law as our company (rather large) employs a large staff of corporate lawyers one or two have a civil engineering degree.

Good Luck.

To become a US Patent Lawyer one must have an engineering degree. (This could be why the only lawyers I like are patent lawyers.) However, to become a patent lawyer on must also do a 2-3yr internship at the patent office in DC. A long row to hoe but I beleive well worth it.