unit system question

Status
Not open for further replies.

keguerrero

Bioengineer
Mar 9, 2015
US
Hi All,

I'm pretty new to draftsight and was wondering a few things that I was hoping could be clarified.

My task is to paste my design onto another design. However I am having some problems with scaling/dimensions. I have made a design in with blocks unit format in millimeters. Its a 6.35mm x 6.35mm square with a design in it. I want to then paste it into another design in another file with the blocks unit format in inches. However, the design in inches seems to be much larger than the design in mm.

I was given the design in inches by my professor, its supposed to be a silicon wafer. When I tried measuring the radius of the wafer, it says 38100. Is this really inches? Doesn't make sense to me since wafers are not 38100 inches in radius.

Am I reading something wrong? Or am I misunderstanding something with the scale? Any help would be highly appreciated! I'm really confused here.

Kevin

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

CAD does not know units. It knows one of something, anything will do - angstroms, inches, miles, fathoms, etc. One unit in CAD is simply one unit - it has no associated length until you dream it one. So, if you draw something that is one unit long, you can think of it as one inch, one meter, one millimeter, one light year, etc. The CAD program does not know or care. If you use a dimension style that assumes that one unit is one inch, and have drawn the object thinking that one unit was one inch, it will correctly dimension the object without a scale factor needed. You have drawn something thinking that one unit was one millimeter. Your professor has given you a drawing that he drew using the assumption that one thousand CAD units was one millimeter, or something else that you will have to figure out. Once you know what he drew his in, you can scale yours as you insert it so the two human scale assumptions match.