Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Variety of Heat Treatment 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mb17

Automotive
Mar 1, 2005
US
I am a mechanical engineer, and have been asked to suggest heat treatment processes for a variety of materials. Is there a good reference guide out there? That gives you tables of required strength, hardness, etc... for each material with the corresponding heat treatment process.

From my student days I remember the fundamentals for carbon steels, but we did not cover any other specific material.

Cheers,

MJ

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I would recommend a metallurgical engineer to assist you. I wouldn't try to buy a book to help me (MetE) design a bridge or a pump or an electrical system. The books will give you some theory and lots of "if this, do this" solutions. Maybe you're looking at a simple problem and you'll find the solution in there. But consider getting help.

Im going to second MetalsInc's reccommendation to hire a Metallurgist to assit you. You might even find that a good consulting Met. will provide some insight into the design of parts for heattreating.

nick

MB17, I'm a MechEng and licensed professional engineer. I have worked with a metallurgist for the past 5 years...if you don't get some advice, you could find yourself in deep trouble. A MechEng and a MetE make a good combination. Individually, they can each do some good things, but together they are a powerful combination. Seriously consider MetalsInc's recommendation...it has great merit!

Dear friends

have you any information about heat treatment temperature and time of API5L Gr.X60 steel?