Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Very Basic: Euler End Conditions? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

jacobd

Mechanical
Jul 23, 2002
US
Let me first say I'm by no means an Engineer, however I am involved to a degree in the design process, and in the end everything is stamped by one of our PE's anyway. Now my question:

In looking at the Euler formula for determing critical loads in columns, I see that there are several end conditions given, each with different k factors. Can someone please give a 'real world' example of such end conditions? I've seen various terms for each, it seems like these are the most common:

Pinned (a.k.a Hinged), Free, Guided, Fixed (a.k.a Clamped)

Typically I/we design simple structures to support equipment, piping, etc... Very often square tube is used for the columns welded directly to the frame on top and with bearing plates at the floor which are either lagged into the concrete directly or grouted & lagged into the concrete.

To me this would seem like a "fixed" ends situation, but not being familiar with the terminology I want to be sure. Some of the conditions such as "Guided" and "Free" I can't imagine an application.

Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

If your column is relatively weak and the fixing at the base strong, and it is also the case with the foundation, a fixed based is acceptable. Where not, usually the assumption of pinned end is accepted, because this way the member gets stronger (relieving of some structural fears) and the design of the foundation is a bit simpler.