Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Vibration Readings.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paw

Mechanical
Feb 10, 2000
US
Let me start by saying I am not an expert on vibration analysis, however I need to analize readings taken of our machines. We manufacture large rotory equipment. I took vibration readings at the two bearings using an instrument made by Bently Nevada, Model #TK81. Operating the machine at 1200 RPM & 1800 RPM, the vibration levels in velocity (in/sec.) were measured. I then switched to the displacement mode and took readings (in. pp). At 1800 RPM (30 Hz.) I have a velocity of .469 in./sec. and a displacement of 2.35 in. What is the mathamatical relationship between these two values? All of my readings come out to about a 5x factor between these two values. This doesn't correspond to any formulas I could find on the subject.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Let's assume that the vibration displacement is a pure sine <br>
x(t)=A * sin(wt), the first derivative gives the velocity<br>
of the vibration that's is :v(t)= A * w * cos(wt)<br>
So the relationship you are looking for is the rotational speed w (measured in rad/sec), the velocity amplitude V= w * the displacement amplitude<br>
For 1800 RPM, w= 30 * PI, so V= 94.2 * D<br>
If D= 2.35 mils (not inches)<br>
V= 94.2 * 0.0023 = 0.216 in/sec <br>
Other aspect that you have to consider is that some equipment measures what is called peak to peak amplitudes and other only peak values, so if you multiply by 2 the velocity you get 2* .216 = .432 (that's almost what you get in your measurement)<br>