Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Weld joint as per ASME is failing (FEA Analysis) at working pressure when bolt preload is applied

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gokulkrishna

Mechanical
May 30, 2013
HK
Hi,

I'm new to FEA analysis. We design our valves considering wall thickness from B31.3 and the weld bevel dimensions as per B16.25.

Our valves are not failing at hydrotest pressure (1.5 * working pressure) during actual testing. But while performing FEA on the valve the weld joint is showing results that are to close to the yeild strength of the material at the working pressure itself which means that our weld joint will yield at hydrotest pressure. Which is not a good scenario.

Can someone help on this. We are considering the entire valve assembly with the valve connected in the pipeline with studs and nuts and pretension is applied on the studs. Also we have not considered the gasket between the two flanges as the gasket are spril wound and is a consists of 2-3 material(hence difficult to model and also mesh).

The weld joints are safe as ASME standard.

Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi

Well I am not familiar ASME in depth but I would say if you've checked your weld stresses independently of FEA to the above code and found them to be safe, then I would think there is a mistake in your FEA. Try using the test pressure in your hand calculations and see what stress that produces, if the result is the welds are okay then you definitely have a problem with the FEA.

You say that the welds in your analysis are "failing" because they have stresses that approach or exceed yield. What exactly is your criteria? Try following the guidance provided in VIII-2 Part 5.

Gokulkrishna: