Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

What does your shop do? Input please. 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

NFV1

Mechanical
Apr 11, 2012
US
I am a design engineer working in a manufacturing machine shop that employs around 40 machine operators (most of whom don't have a great deal of training and have no machine programming experience). As it's not my game I don't get involved in manufacturing engineering, yet I am constantly told "we can't do that" or "we can't hold that tolerance". Then on top of that almost a forth of all parts are out of spec one way or another. I understand that often there is a riff between design and manufacturing engineering. As I don't have a great deal of experience in other manufacturing plants I am looking to see what the "standard" practices are regarding machine shop manufacturing practices.

Do your companies...
1.Supply a job tray with ALL necessary equipment for particular job?
2.Give operator a program and rough route in order to complete part?
3.How accurate are your routes? 100%, 75%, 50%, 25%, never; and how important are these to your company?
4.Are operators required to manipulate programs for slight changes in final dimensions rather than making a bespoke program?
5.Can you add multiple routes for the same parts (say making part of load center 1 vs. load center 2)?
6.How much special set up equipment (ie jigs, arbors, and the like)do you use?
7.How much time does a manufacturing engineer spend on the floor.
a)Run ever part the first time with operator?​
b)Never run first parts with operator but available if issues arise?​
c)Never on floor (this is operator and floor supervisions responsibility?​

Any input would be very helpful. Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you