Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

What is the main differences between Mathcad prime and Mathcad 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

salaheldin

Mechanical
Jan 27, 2015
EG
Hello dear colleagues [smile]

I am new to Mathcad, I wonder what is the difference between Mathcad prime and Mathcad, I knew about the Express version which is free.
Any further guidance or recommended resources to help me master the program will be welcome.
Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

A completely different UI.

That's the main difference. There are some architectural differences behind the scenes which allowed PTC to improve several things like symbolic math, user queues (help tips), error checking, solve blocks, and similar.

Because of the (nearly) complete re-write to MathCAD, not all of the functionality from Legacy has been fully implemented in Prime yet.

--Scott
www.wertel.pro

Thank you [smile]
I actually started learning MathCAD Prime by my self from its help section.. It's really great for new users.
Am i on the right track or it would be better if i go on using MathCAD (not Prime) ?

It depends on the functionality you require. Some of the more advanced math capabilities haven't been incorporated into mathCAD prime yet, but if you don't need them then learning the new UI may be beneficial since PTC will only be updating prime from now on. From what I understand the UI is very different with respect to how certain things are input, so switching back and forth isn't very smooth.