Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Why Materials Engineering?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yook

Materials
Jun 23, 2017
US
Howdy everyone. I've come here every once in a while for advice, usually when I'm about fed up with my current job, and I truly have appreciated the advice you have lent each time.

I left my last job because I was a lone wolf materials engineer doing failure analysis and felt like there was not a good avenue to self teach to the level I thought necessary in order to give confident engineering opinion on critical designs.

I now find myself in a similar situation, where I am the most experienced person on my very small team, and I don't see much path forward in a technical sense. My job consists of reviewing others' designs and providing materials selection, coating, corrosion protection, etc. advice. Even when I feel like I have absorbed much of the information available to solve a specific problem, it seems like my final answer is very hand wavey and intuitive rather than quantitative. I don't feel very confident because it's very difficult to determine if my approaches to problems are valid or just me spit balling and then rationalizing. I've put in a good chunk of time into this discipline and it's quite disheartening to find myself in this position where I am quite aware of how much knowledge I lack, yet don't see a useful means of learning or anyone even excelling in this field. All the while, my managers tell me I'm "doing a great job, keep it up," when nobody even checks my work. This has led me to question this discipline in general and I'm hoping you can set me straight.