Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Will MBA after a MSEE help? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

rwingace

Electrical
Sep 3, 2007
US
I know there are several threads about whether to get a MBA or MS, or both. But my situation is alittle different.

I'm a new grad just starting my first engineering job. I am currently going part-time for my MSEE with my company paying for it.

I don't really know for sure that I want to go into management because I haven't worked much in the field yet. However, throughout school I never really felt I would be an engineer for life. So, I'm thinking I'll eventually get my MBA as well.

I've heard from many people that say getting the MS will "lock" me into an engineering position and I shouldn't do it. But, I figure if my company's paying for it why not?

Anyways my question is, since I will have my MS by the time I'm 25 with my company paying for it, is it beneficial/disadvantageous to have both an MSEE and MBA?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Continuing education while working never hurts a career. Many times it doesn't help, but it never hurts. If you work for a firm for over a year and get an MS while doing it, the MS will probably help you get more money for your next job (or help you find a better job within your company).

An MBA as a first post-grad degree sends a clear message that you are eyeing a management position. An MS followed by an MBA sends a very strong message that: (1) you are versitle; (2) that you have very strong technical engineering abilities; and (3) that you could be top management material.