Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Wrapper plates vs collar plates for mild steel tees 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

win

Civil/Environmental
Jul 10, 2013
MY
I have a question on mscl water pipe design. For a 30' equal mild steel tee, according to awwa m11 on reinforcing plate design we have to use wrapper plates as the ratio of branch/main diamter is 1.0 (more than 0.7). However looking at the shop drawings given by a few pipe manufacturers they only use collar plates. Any opinions on this? Is it a norm for tees with such ratios to just use collar plate reinforcements?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Just an opinion, as of course little project information is supplied in this inquiry, e.g. details of the design as well as actual service/application requirements. What do the project specifications require for these fabrications (while I think it has been around in various forms for more than a half century, AWWA Manual M11 is of course not really a code or specification, but instead a "Guide")? In this regard also, I note that e.g. Table 13-2 of this manual (I see referring to e.g. the ratio of d/D>.7 pointing to "collar") is also headed "RECOMMENDED reinforcement type..."(I supplied the caps), and it thus might be argued recommended does not mean required.