40 year old engineering student 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

OLD_STUDENT

Electrical
May 21, 2018
US
Hi everyone,

Just want to know if I am making the right decision here. A little background on me first. I have been doing Instrumentation and Automation for the past 10 years with the past 5 years working in the Engineering department doing projects. Mainly my projects deal with upgrading our old control system to a newer system, this requires a lot of new programming and integrating the new programming with the existing old programs. This also requires adding new control network infrastructure, which means replacing or integrating our DH+ into ethernet IO. That is the main project I am involved in but I do a lot of other projects as well, smaller ones, i.e. replacing our door security system with a new one. I mainly worked with the vendors on this but I helped them design how it is laid out. The past 5 years I have been going to school part time to get my BSEE as I only have an Associates right now. If I keep going part time I will have 3 more years to go.

I am at a cross roads in which if I go full time now I will graduate in a year and because I have been part time the past 5 years I have not had any opportunity to get grants or scholarships but now that I am planning on going full time my last year of school will be free as grants and scholarships will cover the last year of school. If I go full time now I will have to quit work, might give my two weeks in a couple of weeks. With all of that said I am currently 40 years old and when I graduate I will be 41.

Is it worth it for me to quit work, have that one year of blank on my resume to complete my BSEE in 1 year? Will employers want to hire me after I graduate? Being 41 and all... I currently make 10% more than a new Engineer graduate would make starting out. I really think if I want to move up in my career I should do this but I am worried that I won't get a job after I graduate.