Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

AISC Advanced Elastic Analysis

Status
Not open for further replies.

Settingsun

Structural
Aug 25, 2013
AU
Is Staad capable of the type of elastic analysis required for design according to AISC 360-16 Appendix 1, where compression member buckling is detected in the analysis? I tried the benchmark problem shown in Figure C-A-1.1 and Table C-A-1.1 of the commentary and didn't get a good match. I used PDELTA analysis with small-delta included and enough iterations to converge. These settings gave a good match to the benchmark problems for Chapter C.

If Staad is capable, what are the required settings?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

STAAD is probably not capable of this type of analysis. My comments on the subject:

1) I'm not a STAAD expert. I've used the program a number of times over the past 25 years. However, it's never been my primary program. In fact, I've worked for two of STAAD main competitors (RISA and SAP2000). So, I have an obvious bias / preference for those programs.

2) The challenge (as I understand it) applies mostly to members like wide flange beams or channnels. Members where column type buckling may interact with beam type buckling.

2a) By column buckling I'm referring to flexural buckling (strong or weak axis), and torsional or flexural-torsional buckling.

2b) By beam buckling, I'm referring to lateral torsional buckling.

3) My belief is the STAAD does not do a good job of modeling the torsional stiffness of wide flange and channel members. Nor does it do a good job of modeling the P-Delta effect on member torsion.
3a) RISA might do an okay job of modeling the torsional stiffness of these members, but it does not consider the P-delta effect on torsional rotation. At least not that I know of.
3b) I'm not certain about SAP. My guess is that it probably won't match the Appendix 1 benchmark example either.