Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Convert model to Fine Tolerance

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julian Marchitti

Industrial
Mar 16, 2020
GB
Hi,
I've been modelling Compressor Blades and Vanes in NX12 for a few months now, and I've used the Standard Model Template. I had a conversation last week with a colleague in Siemens Montreal, and he informs me that I should be using the Fine Tolerance Model. Apparently, the FEA package (SC03) used to analyse the models operates on very fine tolerances, and if a standard tolerance is used, the surfaces do not meet.

Assuming this is true, can anyone tell me how I can retrospectively change to a Fine Tolerance Model?

Thank you!
Julian

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi Julian,

I'm not sure what you mean by "Fine Tolerance Model". Is this a local template new part?

Tolerances can be set in Menu:preferences:Modeling.

If you had the distance tolerance set to say 0.01, you cant just change this to 0.0001 and all the feature operations update. You would have to go through each and change the tolerance.

I'd probably start at the first feature and used edit with rollback and work through the model. This could be automated I guess.

I hope this helps.

Regards,

Paul

You can try going thru your model starting with the first feature and then tighten the tolerance on that feature then each feature down the tree. To see the tolerance of the feature you may need to expand everything in the menu. It should be under "settings".
If this is a fully surfaced model then you may just want to edit the feature of the surfaces in the model tree and tighten those tolerances.

Jerry J.
UGV5-NX1884