Crash Test Query 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sriddle

Automotive
Jul 9, 2024
NZ
Hi all

I am currently designing an aluminum frame for the rear of a truck bed.

Truck_Bed_opku9a.jpg

The frame will be load bearing and have a dynamic rating of 150kg. I have been asked to perform some 'crash testing' on the frame prototype. This requires a certain amount of force to be exerted on the assembly in a horizontal direction. See example here of a roof rack test performed on a track (
I do not have access to a track or testing facility so was wondering if there is a good way to perform a bench test via pulling on the assembly using a winch or similar device.

What sort of calculations would you recommend to determine the correct load or force? The testing standard ISO11154 states that the load has a force of 8g applied to it and is tested to 1.5 times the stated capacity.

ISO11154_v7bjdk.jpg

Sorry if this is a tad vague, as you can probably tell I am not a structural engineer, merely a lowly CAD monkey! :)

Any help would be appreciated.

Steve

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Um. The y axis is labeled as g (m/s2). 1g is 10 m/s2. So is 8g, or 8 m/s2? If it is a crash the higher figure is more likely.

50 ms makes it a dynamic event, your frame is going to have modes starting at 10-20 Hz or so. If you just apply 80*(mass of tray+mass of cargo) to the cg, with boundary conditions at the fixtures you'll get lower stresses than if you apply a dynamic pulse to the bed of the frame which is far more realistic.

Is there anyone at your company who has experience with this stuff? Crash modelling is hard.

Cheers

Greg Locock

New here? Try reading these, they might help FAQ731-376

Yeah, the math is off, and/or the label on the graph is wrong. 16 km/hr is equal to 4.44 m/s, and the velocity goes to zero in some .05 seconds (averaging the two triangular bits), dv/dt = 89 m/s^2, or about 9 g's of deceleration, still not the 8 g's quoted but close.