Design a connection plate between two wooden plates and ladder for access 6

Status
Not open for further replies.

patstructural

Civil/Environmental
Dec 13, 2023
CA
Hello everyone,

I am a recent grad in Ontario (Canada) working for a company where I am their first hired structural engineer, they have other engineers.

I have been tasked to design a platform (more like a plate) between two wooden plates, see attached image (blue highlighted area is where the plate will be, for maintenance purposes; and ladder is meant to provide access to the elevated wooden plates). I designed a slab, beams, columns in school and even a building in my last year so I am comfortable with the knowledge/experience I gained and I am sure it helped. However, I would like to confirm if my design/analysis approach for this task is correct or not, since I have no experience designing neither at school. Additionally, the task is for a US project and I believe I will have to use their standards/guidelines/regulations.

1. Plate considerations:
Design
a. Location
- Seismic? _ I don't think this should be an issue but could be wrong.
- Code requirements? (US equivalent of CSA Design)
- Avoid clashes/interferences
- Dimensions (28"x14"x5")

b. Capacity
- Max loading conditions at supports
- Construction joints (bolted)

c. Use
- Anticipated loading conditions on platform (check code!!!) - DL (self-weight) + LL (300 lbs from maintenance crew)
- Protective railings?
- Steel/aluminum/wood to wood? _ I took steel and wood design courses but I'm more comfortable with steel.

Analysis
- Slab
- Slenderness _ Isn't this normally a column consideration plus the steel plate is fairly small where I don't think a slenderness ratio matters.
- Min bolts
- R factor? _ Based on research, this is related to seismic. I took a seismic course but I didn't cover this.
- Deflection
- Drift (caused by seismic)