Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Dimensioning of profiled surfaces

Status
Not open for further replies.

tgmcg

Mechanical
Feb 21, 2004
I'm relatively new to the ASME Y14.5 and have been using SolidWorks for a year. We're outsourcing some investment cast aluminum parts which require secondary machining. While we can assign dimensions and tolerances for the machined features (holes) on the drawing, we are a bit puzzled as to how best to locate and dimension several as-cast features (eg. ribbed pockets with draft and radiused edges) which do not require any machining. The features in question are primarily for weight reduction. How should we do this?

It's not yet clear if the foundry can reference the solid model directly, but it's encouraging to see that supplying a drawing plus model to the manufacturer appears to be common practice among the posters here.

The as-cast dimensions are generally not toleranced. The manufacturers standard tolerances will be acceptable.

Any comments or suggestions are most welcome.

Many thanks!

Tom

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The surfaces/features that are not machined later should have dimensions with tolerances. All others can have dims using a tol block (loose tol) and/or general notes to cover radii, edges, etc. A big help could be to send the foundry a model and dwg with dims and ask them to mark-up the dwg for you. Sometimes a foundry will do this for you.

Chris
Sr. Mechanical Designer, CAD
SolidWorks 05 SP2.0 / PDMWorks 05
ctopher's home site
FAQ371-376
FAQ559-1100
FAQ559-1091
FAQ559-716

Chris,

The problem we have is that the surfaces we'd like to dimension are not square. Beats me how to locate the sloping surface of a drafted pocket with radiused edges, short of supressing the radiused edges in the drawing and covering the edge radius with a note. This still presents problems during inspection.