Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Does the pressure drop in a liquid line depend on the operating pressure of the line? 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

jesahe

Chemical
Jun 7, 2013
US
I'm studying the pressure drop of oil flow in a single phase liquid line by utilizing the Fanning equation [ ΔP = (0.00115f*Q[sup]2[/sup]*S)/d[sup]5[/sup] ]. Where f = Moody friction factor, Q = liquid flow rate (barrels/day), S = liquid specific gravity, and d = pipe inside diameter (inches).

I can see very clearly from this equation that the answer to my question is 'NO'. However, I'm having a hard time justifying this to myself in physical terms. Why would a line operating at 100psig behave the same as another operating at 2000psig given all other variables are the same.

Thank you for taking the time to answer this question!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

There is no change in velocity for an incompressible fluid when moveing from one operating pressure to another. That is the reason why.

Thank you! So, would it be correct to say that the pressure drop of single phase, incompressible liquid flow is only a result of the energy loss due to friction? Furthermore, the energy loss due to friction will always be the same regardless of operating pressure.

If I'm grasping this I still can't reconcile the fact that friction losses will always be the same at different pressures. Why wouldn't it act differently?

Whilst no fluid is actually incomprssible, the difference in density for a single phase liquid at the same temperature between your 2000 psig and 100 psig is negligible and therefore can be ignored in the flow calculations. If you search for it you can find liquid compressibility - e.g. for water 1% compression requires about 3,000 psig.