Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Duty Cycle

Status
Not open for further replies.

akpalican

Mechanical
Dec 6, 2014
US
I'm a mechanical engineer and it's been years since I've worried about electrical engineering so please forgive the ignorance. I'm interested in using a winch driven by an electric motor (Harbor freight item number 61840) with a duty cycle of 5% (45 sec at max rated load of 2500lbs and 14 min 15 sec of rest). However, the max load I am lifting is 250 lbs...can I use a ratio to calculate the duty cycle for this load or is the duty cycle a constant? Also, please let me know if there is any literature that can help. Thanks in advance!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

That duty cycle is what you need to stick to if you are lifting 2500 lbs.

For lighter lifts, you can (to make things easier) increase the duty cycle according to the ratio Rated Load/Actual Load. That would be an increase from 5% to 50%.

And, this is a rather conservative calculation. You will probably be able to run that winch continuously because heat in a motor is usually proportional to load squared. And now, the nice thing with a winch is that you cannot run it continuously - if you don't have an endless lifting wire. So you are fine. No worries.

Gunnar Englund
--------------------------------------
Half full - Half empty? I don't mind. It's what in it that counts.

Reality ought to be somewhere between a constant (i.e. 5%) and proportional (i.e. ten times that, 50%, considering that you are only operating it at one-tenth capacity). The problem is that unless the manufacturer provides this information, you have no way to know where in this enormous gulf between the two, that the reality lies.