Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Embedded Column Base Plate 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

mountaineers19

Structural
Jun 4, 2024
US
When designing a WF column where the bottom 1.5 feet of it is going to be encased in concrete do you take the unbraced length from the baseplate to be conservative or is it okay to take it from the top of the concrete to try and trim down the column size?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I usually consider the column length to be measured from the bottom of the baseplate. This may be a bit conservative, but I've been doing it this way for about 45 years and have never been "value-engineered" by anyone about this. I pay attention to other things that are of greater consequence - such as attention to details, constructability, showing reactions, producing high quality and complete contract documents, listening to fabricators when they have suggestions, following the requirements of AISC 303 (the Code of Standard Practice), etc. Depending on the footing size and baseplate detail, I have occasionally used k=0.8 (for non-sway columns).

If the concrete is just unreinforced decorative cover, I'd ignore it.

If the concrete is properly reinforced, I might be tempted to ignore the top 12" of the concrete due to possible long term concrete deterioration and go with the remaining concrete below (in your case only 6").

I always worry that someday, somehow, some engineer will say: Yes - go ahead and remove that concrete - it ain't doing nothin'

So you would select a column that would fail buckling design checks if the unbraced length was 1.5 ft longer? That seems inadvisable.

bones206 said:
So you would select a column that would fail buckling design checks if the unbraced length was 1.5 ft longer? That seems inadvisable.