Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Ethical question regarding tolerances on test plan 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

mdgates

Mechanical
Jan 21, 2006
US
I'm new to engineering, so I'm looking for the opinions of some more experienced engineers regarding the following ethical concern, which I will phrase as a hypothetical.

Suppose there's an aerospace company that's trying to get a product into the market. There's a specification that defines the required performance, and a test plan that's been approved by the would-be customer as a means of demonstrating compliance with the spec. The spec requires the product perform at a temperature of 100°C, so the test plan calls for the unit to be placed in an oven at 100+/-5°C for three hours (+/- 5 minutes), then removed from the oven and operated within five minutes.

The engineering team discovers that the product will not function satisfactorily at 100°C. Engineer A suggests setting the oven to 96°C, and lowering the temperature of the test stand room to improve the product's chances of passing the test. Engineer A further suggests leaving the unit in the oven for exactly 2 hours and 55 minutes. He further suggests building a "quiescent oven" to use instead of the standard convection oven that the company has always used to test similar products.

The question is: Is Engineer A's proposal ethical?

It will be Engineer B's responsibility to execute the test. If Engineer B's boss says that Engineer A's suggestions should be followed, what should Engineer B's response be?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Did the customer approve the test plan, or is it internally defined.

Just FYI if I had specked something to perform at 100°C then I'd expect that the minimum temperature used during testing would be 100°C.

Posting guidelines faq731-376 (probably not aimed specifically at you)
What is Engineering anyway: faq1088-1484

Greg,