Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Fire Pump Controller/ATS Normal versus Alternate Source Requirements

Status
Not open for further replies.

milwaukeebob

Electrical
Jun 21, 2004
US
I have a question regarding a fire pump/motor and associated fire pump controller/auto-transfer switch (ATS) installation at small power generation plant (<40MW). The plant is in the final stages of installation and commissioning has already begun. Note the owner of the plant is not a utility.

The design/installation of the fire pump system and associated small building is non-traditional in that there is odd scope-split between the owner and the EPC Contractor. Furthermore, portions of the design do not appear to have been vetted properly by a traditional, single Engineer of Record (EoR). I was brought in very late in the project cycle to represent the owner and help with several high-level tasks. Although I’m a degreed power electrical engineer and have almost 30 years of industrial power plant experience, I’m not a fire pump/protection expert. Nonetheless, I recognized some oddities when it came to the fire pump/system design and installation.