Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to apply Coupling Constrain, and Rotation of 3D Model? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

bhavbhuti302

Mechanical
May 11, 2009
US
Hello Abaqus Users,

I am very new to Abaqus, and trying to rotate one gear related to other. When I try using the normal cylindrical constrain, I found that it rotates but it also expands the model. So, is there anyway I can rotate the model and other model rotates with that. Also, I feel that coupling constrain can actually help me, but I don't know how to apply coupling constrain. I tried using the abaqus manual but it's not too clear to me. Can anyone please help me to sort this problem out. I will appreciate if someone can upload very simple file having coupling constrain in it.

Thank you
Bhav

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Check out OptiEng's topics. I helped him with a similar problem with rotating disks in edge contact. Start with his oldest posts and work forward. I hope this helps.

Rob Stupplebeen

I really don't understand when you have explained about the coupling thing. And I think he didn't reply back after your answer so I am sure what he has done. Can you please explain me bit more about the same rotation. I am having similar rotation and trying to find contact stresses in the gear tooth. Thanks in advance.

Hi OptiEng

I really appreciate for your file sharing, it gave me some hint, but I have both 3D models to rotate with respect to one another. I have 2 gear models to rotate as one is driver and other is driven and want to analyse the contact pattern of the tooth surface.

I will still try to use this trick, but I wonder if it works for 3D. Can you please help me for 3d models.

Thank you for reply.