Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

HVAC Tutorial, Downloads, Dampers

Status
Not open for further replies.

jsummerfield

Electrical
Jan 26, 2003
US
As mentioned in another thread, I too need the "Idiot's Guide to HVAC" as this is not my discipline. I am an instrumentation and controls engineer trying to understand the impact of a client changee on work by those invoved HVAC. I am at a fabrication yard where English is not the first language so questions here are poorly discussed. I am beginning with the changes that affect controls. Some require more dampers to permit leaving the air-handler operating while isolating areas. So, let me start with questions specific to dampers. Non return dampers appear to work like a check valve. With the fan running, the velocity lifts the louvers but they close by gravity when the fan stops. What significant details should I know about other type dampers. We have the following types:
Fire damper and combination shutoff
shutoff
pressure control
constant volume
balancing
non return
wathertight shutoff
weather tight shutoff

Thanks in advance.

John

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Here are some types of dampers

Dampers-Automatic or Manual:
Adjustable metal plates installed inside of a duct to restrict, control volume, balance, or by-pass air, as required in an air conditioning system.
Fire Dampers