Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Illinois won't accept my education toward my SE application 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike Mike

Structural
Apr 27, 2019
TH
I have a bachelor's in Physics from University of Wisconsin, a master's in civil (structural) from Marquette University, and 5 years work experience. Illinois said they would consider a bachelor's in civil from Marquette to be worth (4) years of experience, but they said a master's in civil (structural) from Marquette is worth nothing. Does anyone have any idea how to appeal the committee's decision? Illinois told me their is no way to appeal, but I would like to spend some time and resources fighting. Any tips anyone has for me would be greatly appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

We have similar issues with certain colleges in this part of the world too. The content and quality of some college courses, very few, is not considered to meet the standards of some institutions and the degree is therefore not recognised.

There may be other, longer routes, to chartership. But your appeal sill likely fall on deaf ears.

IL looks for structural specific design courses over and above the general physics and mechanics of materials type courses. A degree in physics doesn’t offer many of those. I’m not sure what you needed for an MSCE degree at Marquette, but maybe that coursework wasn’t rigorous enough in structural design classes.

You might get them to tell you exactly what counts and what doesn’t from your transcript, but it is highly unlikely they will change their minds. IL is legendary in this regard.