Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Interview Ethics question.... 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

bradpa77

Mechanical
Feb 23, 2006
US
I have an interview next week with a new company. I am a mechanical engineer that deals with design and stress analysis or machine parts. I create a lot of 3-dimensional drawings and designs using Pro/E and ANSYS. I would like to bring some printouts of my work from my current company to show off my specific skills at the interview. I really don't want to have to ask permission from my current employer to bring the drawings to the interview because I don't want them to know that I am doing a job search. The new company is not a competitor of ours. The new job is actually a whole different industry altogether, so it's not like I will be providing a competing company with sensitive information that could be detrimental to my current company.

Is it unethical or possibly even illegal to bring these types of documents to an interview???

What if I bring brochures that are available to our customers that show our product lines and capabilities? They would show components that I would typically work on. Since these brochures are available to the public, would they be considered intellectual property?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The drawings are company property. I do not believe you can provide them for your personal use. I don't know the legal issues, but I don't think it is ethical.

If you were to create drawings of items similar to what you work on, then you might be ok. Not if you do it on company time or using company equipment (computer, software).