Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

More wood decks collapse, this time in New Jersey 1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I don't think I would be crowding onto the decking next door to get a better view!

Politicians like to panic, they need activity. It is their substitute for achievement.

It looked pretty reasonable, before. Interestingly, the roof overhang stayed intact.

deck_collapse_iluzaj.png

TTFN (ta ta for now)
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert! faq731-376 forum1529 Entire Forum list

This picture shows the deck survived as a complete slab.

Looking closely it looks like the main beams run parallel to the building with only the odd bit of 10x2 actually holding it up!!

Looks like quite a heavy deck to start with.

Screenshot_2019-09-15-18-55-22_x7eqgh.png

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.

Re: Image posted by LittleInch - The joists and ledger do not look healthy, nevermind the logic in the structural layout. The deck slats also allow for generous water penetration of the hidden structure. Obvious external decay does not bode well for that which could not be seen.

Re: Image posted by IRstuff - An initial glance can be dismissive of the misaligned columns given stitching of multiple images by Google Earth, however closer inspection reveals either significant maintenance issues, poor construction techniques, or both.
Baker_St..03_vqteln.jpg

EDIT: It seems I missed a seam across the middle of the highlight, but I will otherwise leave the post as is. From multiple angles, something is not right with that deck.