MTHW for HVAC heating coil

Status
Not open for further replies.

WilliamTz

Mechanical
Dec 13, 2017
US
Hello

Has anyone any suggestions regarding trying to control an air handler off heating coil temperature when using MTHW at 135degC
Control is very difficult and the temperature tend to over shoot.... its the huge difference between the water temp and the desired air temp is the problem I think.
Air handler is 10m3/s
Air off temperature approx 15 degC.
Im using 2 port control valves.
I've seen installation using pumps to maintain constant volume on the coil...would this help?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Control loops, however, are highly dependent on system lag; if there's too much lag, there might always be some instantaneous variabilities. If you have too much lag, you might need some sort of feedforward adjunct to the main control loop.

TTFN (ta ta for now)
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert! faq731-376 forum1529 Entire Forum list

You could create a lower temperature sub loop to and from the coil with a dedicated pump and a mixing valve. Having the loop recirculate on itself and just bleed in MTHW water with the coil return water as needed to bring the loop temp up to a more reasonable HW temp. Then pick the HW control temp to whatever it was designed for.

Hello GT-EGR.
Thanks for your tip!
Does the attached sketch look ok.
Some diagrams show what you explained with no control over the MTHW supply and just a bypass before the mixing valve and pump arrangement.
Can I delete the by pass and put in a 2 port valve since the overall system is 2 port? The 2 port valve will maintain the desired LPHW temperature
Your thoughts?
William

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=06580320-cb16-4bc3-b23a-3a1575c2b864&file=20211005_081941.jpg
I don’t think you want the 2-way and 3-way in series, it should probably be one or the other.