Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

power factor of steam turbine generator

Status
Not open for further replies.

insinyur02

Mechanical
May 6, 2008
ID
good morning,

i am a new graduate working in cogen power plant.

- i want to know, can i increase power factor to 1.0 from the steam turbine generator by increasing voltage from voltage regulator.

- in our plant, power factor is 0.82 from generator.... if i increase voltage from voltage regulator to have power factor to 0.95 , is it possible?, what will happen to the generator and the system?

- why my bos never increase power factor to 0.95, as i know higher PF means reactive power lower and it is good.

please explain.... thank you

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You can increase the field current to bring the PF to unity, but only if the generator is under-excited. More likely is that the generator is over-excited and the field current would have to reduce to bring the power factor to unity.

Normally you would be correct that higher PF is better, but real world loads such as induction motors consume vars and this requirement for reactive power has to be met from somewhere. Normally the generator is best able to supply reactive power. If the load consumes lagging vars, as an induction motor does, then the system has to supply lagging vars. An over-excited generator is one source of lagging vars.

----------------------------------
image.php

If we learn from our mistakes I'm getting a great education!

okay, we have 7 steam turbines each 100 MWe. only one turbine runs with PF 0.93 while others is 0.82, why they dont like to increase the power factor? what are d possible reasons?

- why increasing voltage generator, can increase power factor?