Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Prehistoric HVAC engineers 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stormxtc

Mechanical
Feb 4, 2004
AU
Hi all,

I have been working in the HVAC design industry for the last 3 years only. Before that I was woking in an industrial environment which is totaly different to what I do now.

Over the 3 years I have come to the conclusion that the HVAC industry is extremely primitive in dealing with creating a comfertable environment for people to live in.

We use a multitude of fans, coils, heat rejection equipment, control systems, ductwork, pipework, cabling, return air paths, supply air paths, outdoor air, plenums and this and that etc etc etc. just so we can be comfertable.

We use all of these equipment, which generally do not have a very high efficiency rating and even less so when they try to opperate together, to sustain the indoor air conditions at 24degC and 55% RH. To me this is an increadibly inefficient system, very cumbersome and even prehistoric when you consider other engineering fields such as automotive and aeronautical engineering which have soared since their first invention.

Are we HVAC design engineers guilty of being lazy in pushing the fronteer of HVAC to its limits. How many of you are forcing the envelope to eliminate this cacaphony of equipment and invent better ways of conditioning the air?