Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Radiator Designing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nashx

Mechanical
Oct 15, 2014
IN
I am quite new to this subject and I really need some advice. I only know the power and torque of the engine. The water pump pressure. How do I calculate the area of the required radiator. I need some references and some methodology to tackle this problem. Kindly help

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You go to the engine dealer and get the technical data for the engine, which includes heat rejection to the engine's surroundings and to the cooling system.

Many such engine application manuals also give you more help with sizing radiators and exhaust systems, like worked examples of certain problems.

Mike Halloran
Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

The said engine is of Ktm DUKE 390.I just have the basic engine data.Can you tell me about some reading material for radiator Designing.

The KTM DUKE 390 is a very nice liquid cooled single cylinder motorcycle, not a loose engine.
KTM already put a radiator on it, so there's no need for you to design one.
You can probably learn a lot from the factory shop manual, and it's always a good thing to have, so invest in one of those. It won't tell you a lot about radiators.

I don't know much about designing radiators as a component; any useful design information that's known would be too commercially valuable to disseminate far.

If you want to know about _selecting_ radiators that someone else designed, go to an engine dealer, not a motorcycle dealer, and get the application handbook for an engine, e.g. a generator engine. I know that Caterpillar publishes such a document for each of its engine series, and John Deere and Cummins publish similar documents.