Relay Usage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigmil

Mechanical
Oct 8, 2001
CA
Hello,
I am a Mechanical Engineer and I am alittle lost here. This should be simple. We are try to hook up a automatic kill switch, so that when one piece of equipment goes down the other will shut down aswell. With the 1st machine we have a signal coming out that is .75V when it is on and 0V when it is off. The 2nd machine we have two terminals that when touched together will shut that machine off properly. I was thinking just hook up a relay to the .75V so when it goes off the relay connects the two terminals. Now I don't even know if that would work, but if it would, I am having a hard time finding a relay that would work? Is this possible? And if so where do I look for a relay? A coworker had mentioned something about a transistor, but from what I can remember, that wouldn't switch the power off?
Thankyou for the help,
Bigmil

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

hi bigmill.
you have a signal that is 0.75v when the unit is running????
this sounds like it might be a current or instrument signal.
You should be able to fit an auxillary contact to the contactor of the "primary" unit and use this to "interlock" the next unit. There may even be a normally open contact already available on the contactor or starter. (this is usual even on VFD drives)
If the 0.75v is an instrument signal you should contact one of the instrument companies and buy an off the shelf unit.
there is a possibility that you have a transistor output from the device which will need to use the signal power of the device. (0.75v sounds like Vbe on a transistor too). If so don't connect outside power to the signal terminals.
I suspect any 1/2 decent sparky should be able to do this for you.
Don't forget if you put an interlock in the control of the second drive the second drive will not start until the first has.