Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Retaining Wall Programs

Status
Not open for further replies.

keyPitsimplE

Structural
Aug 5, 2008
US
I am a residential and light commercial "structural" engineer (PE). I have used QuickRWall by IES for several years now and like it. I'm getting ready to upgrade and am considering Retain Pro. Does anyone have any comparitive experience with either or both of these? Others?

Thanks,

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I have no experience with QuickRWall, but we recently started using Retain Pro.

The few times I have used it, it did everything I needed it to and it was fairly easy to jump into and use; however, there are definitely bugs present in the program. Sometimes it seemed to not recognize that a parameter had been updated in an input box. No error messages or crashes, just no calculation refresh.

Given that it's our go-to program, I work around the bugs and I am still happy with the results. It has actually been several months since I used it, so the bugs have possibly been fixed by now.

We use RetainPro extensively in our office and it works really well for us. Also none of the other software that we have that does retaining walls has all of the capabilities of RetainPro. Also their support is great, and they will usually provide you an answer within a couple of hours. Another added benefit of the program is that it is super cheap compared to other programs.

I did notice that my output wasn't updating a couple of weeks ago as well and I sent them a technical inquiry and they were right on top of helping me and we determined that it was a bug in the software that they had already fixed I just did not have the newest update.