Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Rollover of commercial vehicles

Status
Not open for further replies.

vitelblendo

Mechanical
Apr 18, 2001
IT
I would know if a road test exists about the limits of commercial vehicles' center of gravity height in terms of rollover threshold.

thank you in advance

belondo

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hello again,

Judging from the time this post has been up without response, I would guess that there are no standard tests. I don't think NHTSA tests commerical vehicles because the private vehicle segment is bigger, and statistcally, more accident prone.

Come to think of it, I drive for a living, and the private sector IS more accident prone, statistics or not!

I read an article in Discover magazine about how they test SUV's for rollover safety specs. I'm sure it's in Discover's archives if you go to their website. Also, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration board itself may be able to help.

I inquired some months ago about finding the center of gravity of a vehicle, and Evelrod gave me a "rule of thumb" way, which he probably explains better than I do. See if you can track him down by e-mail or something.

Hope this helps!

EMc

Oo er. I've been here too long, and forgotten the answer!

In England they DO (or did) test some commercial vehicles for rollover potential, by putting them on a big platform and lifting one edge until the vehicle topples.

They may do some dynamic tests as well, akin to the SUV tests, or just on a very large skid pan at constant speed.