Salary Negotiation Failed Recent College Graduate 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

afdengo

Structural
Dec 28, 2017
CR
Hello All,

I'm a young engineer that just got a bachelor's in civil engineering. I recently interviewed for and was offered a position at a construction company I was eager to work at.

I tried to negotiate a higher salary than I was offered, but ultimately I failed and was offered only the original salary. I accepted this since I still wanted the job and the salary isn't much lower than what I was aiming for.

My question is, as engineering employees and employers yourselves, what would you think of a new person coming in like this? I feel kind of embarassed and awkward coming into my first day on Monday now that I tried to squeeze some more money out of them and failed. Do you think they will look down on me a little bit for that or will they just forget about it?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Nothing wrong with that! It is somewhat expected. The fact that you got the job means they are OK with you. Now prove yourself and the salary will come!

I admire your nerve for trying, as a new graduate. That probably sets you apart from other grads they've hired.
Keep up the attitude that you won't just accept what's given to you, because often there's more if you just ask.
This is only one case where there wasn't more to be given - but next time there might be.

STF

You don't know until you try and practice makes perfect. That was practice session one. Kudos to your verve and willingness to put yourself out there! If your employer is smart and thinking, they'll recognize your potential beyond just the technical aspects.

Since you're a new graduate, make sure you get on the path to licensure. It matters.

Pamela K. Quillin, P.E.
Quillin Engineering, LLC
NSPE-CO, Central Chapter
Dinner program: