Simple circuit system question. 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmgardner

Civil/Environmental
May 31, 2013
US
Hi guys,
I am a Civil Engineer, and have a simple charging question I was hoping to get some help on.

I have a few sites where I am having power issues at, here is the layout:

Solar panel -> charge controller (one input, two outputs) -> each output runs to a 12V battery which powers a piece of equipment(resistor).

Occasionally, one or the other pieces of equipment experience a power failure.

I was wondering if I was to connect the batteries in series rather then parallel, if this would give me a better chance of not occurring a power failure.

Both of the layouts are depicted on the image attached.

Please let me know what you think and thank you for your time.

J. Myles Gardner

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Ref. image:

download.aspx

Short answer: probably not. The two batteries in series would be nominally 24 volts (12 + 12). The information you've provided hints that it's a 12-volt system (as is quite common).

When do they experience power failures? If the draw is larger than the charging capacity, then you drain the battery. There's nothing magical about that. What is the power output of the charger and what are the power draws on each battery, and what's the solar availability?

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss

Need help writing a question or understanding a reply? forum1529

Thank you guys for the quick answers, I will go out to the field and gather some more information regarding the charge controller (i.e. output and ???). Outside of that information, what would you guys recommend for increasing the reliability of this system? Buy bigger batteries/solar panel?