Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Smokeless Flaring Possible without Air Blower or Steam Supply

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patel85

Mechanical
Apr 4, 2015
AE
Dear All,

First of all, I would like to tell you that I am Beginner in Flare Field. So you Might think that the question is stupid.
I apologize for the same. but I want to know whether Smokeless Flaring is possible without supplying additional air or Addition Steam.

I am handling a project where in Feed Document, I can see that Smokeless flaring is specified and they have specified Air and Steam Assistant as "Nil".

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

VK (Mechanical)

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Though I'm not a flare expert, my limited experience with LP and HP flares tells me that unassisted smokeless operation becomes a challenge with one or more of the following

a) Gas mol wt is high (maybe more than 25)
b) High turndown requirement
c) Allocated flare tip dp is low at design rate

Smokeless flaring is even more difficult if you have H2S.

Tell us a bit more about the design case requirements for this flare tip

If you are burning light Hydrocarbon gases, there is no need to consider steam or air in order to ensure smokeless flaring.
What are the design cases and compositions for the Flare?

Dejan IVANOVIC
Process Engineer, MSChE

Dear All,

Thanks for your reply.

Content of flare Gas are as following : H2O, H2S, N2, Methane, ethane, propane, I-Butane, n-Butane, i and n-pentane, n-hexane, n-octane, n-nonane, n-decane, Benzene, p-xylene, COS, Methyl Mercaptan and Ethyl Mercaptan. Molecular weight of Flare gas is 19.97.

This is HP Flare. Pressure Drop allowed for Tip and seal is 4.5 Bar.