Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

The case for paperless office workflow 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

milkshakelake

Structural
Jul 15, 2013
US
I'll make the case for a paperless office workflow!

I've been using this setup for 2 years and haven't looked back. All of this hinges on having a display tablet, not to be confused with a regular drawing tablet because those suck. To be clear, I don't advocate paperless outside the office; I still use pen and paper for site visits and meetings. I'm also not describing a note taking device; that's covered in detail in the threads below, but can easily complement the workflow I'm presenting. Feel free to poke holes in any of this! It's just for fun.

There have been a few threads on the subject:

1. You get a clean workspace, which increases clarity of mind and productivity

This is my home office. Real office is similar, but with more monitors. I didn't clean it up; this is in the middle of work. Enough space for my protein shake, super cool rock, and cold water. Display tablet is on the right.

WeChat_Image_20221111135532_imbebn.jpg

Before I went paperless and was working for someone else, the office looked something like this. It's not an exaggeration; the reality was worse. There were also bookcases, shelves, and repurposed furniture just to hold drawings and binders.

messy-office_udjtlh.jpg

2. You don't have to look through millions of pieces of paper to find a calculation

Calculations are organized into electronic folders. It beats walking to a bookcase, finding the right binder, and flipping to the right page of calculations.

Screenshot_2022-11-11_140316_rhocug.png

3. With a tablet display and Excel, it's faster and easier to make calculations

Instead of printing and annotating an engineering drawing for a calculation, you could take a screenshot and mark it up. This works seamlessly in Excel, which has built-in drawing tools.

markup1_gyfgng.png