Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

The co-worker obstacle 9

Status
Not open for further replies.

aprincezk

Mechanical
Aug 21, 2006
US
I work in a very small consulting firm as an entry-level engineer on very fast paced projects. I have recently realized that the lead designer apparently has some sort of issue with me. A side note, I am a very professional young female and the designer is a middle aged male - he used to be overly kind and social with me. Being young, I multi-task like nobody's business learning "the ropes" and producing deliverables. I dont ask questions until i have done some of my own research. The past few weeks, the designer REFUSES to provide me with any sort of reasonable answer to any of my questions, nor will he provide me with any drawings that i require until i send a request in an email with the Project Manager/CEO of the company copied in. I confronted this difficulty in a sincere email and received no response. I can only see this turning into a horrible battle of witts and me losing (my job) because he has more experience and the company cant afford to get rid of him.

Question: What to do, what to do??? I dont want to get anyone else involved and start a ruckus because we don't have the time to play games against each other, but i certainly dont enjoy his hinderance on my progress and effect on my attitude as of late. We work for the same company and should be working TOGETHER, not against each other...any advice???

Replies continue below

Recommended for you