Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

TP without a basic dimension? 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

rollingcloud

Aerospace
Aug 9, 2022
US
wwwwssfe_epa2l2.png

This was done by someone who I cannot reach out and ask. I am trying to make sense of his measurement drawing, it's not easy since I am a noob as well...
It has 3 axes as datums A, C and E, I am pretty sure that's not correct, one axis (datum C) should be enough IMO.
Also, none of the TP callouts have basic dimension.
Moreover, calling TP on the ball dia does not make sense to me.
Calling two flatness on the race seem to be not needed, especially if both surfaces are controlled by perpendicularity already.
Is form control on the ball OD a good idea?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Each part is individual - they each have a separate primary datum feature as does the assembly - datum features apply only at the part level and don't apply anywhere else. That makes 3.

None of them need a dimension because items that are nominally coaxial are defined as having a zero offset dimension which is not added to the drawing.

The flatness on the race is a refinement and the flatness tolerance value will be much smaller than the perpendicularity tolerance value.

Dave,

Thank you for pointing it out, I completely forgot that it's an assembly, it makes sense to have the 3 axial datums.
But I mean why to have a tight control on non-working surfaces such as the two flat sides?
TP on the ball surface does not make sense to me, the tolerance zone should be spherical diameter symbol and it needs a basic dimension locating the center point of the ball first.

Datum D looks not needed to me, the only call out that is using datum D is the incorrect usage of TP mentioned above.