Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Training New Hires 25

Status
Not open for further replies.

HSThompson

Aerospace
Aug 12, 2003
US
OK, This isn't a technical question but one that I am sure that we are struggling with. We, like everyone, are hiring new stressers everyday. I've been a stress engineer since '91. I was trained in the old Boeing way, find the grizzliest old stress guy you could, then shut-up and listen. In addition, at Boeing we had the Tech Excellence classes.

My problem is this, the OEM I’m at now does not have very good training courses, and there aren’t enough grizzlies to go around. We’re getting worn out explaining the same things over and over to a different person; i.e. IDT, Mc/I, Cripple, Buckle, Repairs, DADT, FEM, Load Paths, FAR’s, what references to buy etc. etc., etc.

My question is this, for all you old timers and newbies out there, what are some training methods you have used or seen that can get them up to speed and quickly? I can think of a few but a fresh perspective would be nice.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Being on the Design end of a/c engineering, I am always fascinated with things I can do to better my designs before sending them to stress (and I consider myself a perpetual stress newbie) . I'd be very much interested in reading a training "faq" here about being a stress eng.

Wes C.
------------------------------
When they broke open molecules, they found they were only stuffed with atoms. But when they broke open atoms, they found them stuffed with explosions...

I would be interested in seeing a FAQ for stress as well. I recall seeing a Boeing Stress manual - never had the chance of using it.

As to getting tired of answering the same questions - now you know how your prof's felt and how your supervisors felt when you were at your first real job.

I was the old guy on the block and trained
many underlings. It was always amazing to
me that many would come back with the same