Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Wall mounted crane design 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

KieranSean

Mechanical
Feb 8, 2010
GB
Hi all, i really need some guidance. I am new to this game having been employed just a little over a year.

Our company has decided to take on work to design and supply hand operated wall mounted cranes.

I'm struggling to get started with sizing the beam (see attached pic). Can anyone tell what method i should be using?

Cheers

Kieran

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Are you referring to the horizontal I-beam you are trying to size?

BTW, kudos on the nice conceptual design, most people scribble on computer paper and hastily scan and upload it. Hard to decipher.

Yes the horizontal I beam. Is it the case that i decide on the safety factor i would like to use, then using the beam stress equation work back to obtain the correct beam properties.

after looking into the design a little more, i have become extremely worried about the fixing situation.

how can i determine that i am using the correct number of fixing bolts?

Choosing a safety factor then working backwards is a good idea.

When the load on each joint is determined you can find the tensile and or shear stresses the bolts will be subjected to. Using a slightly larger factor of safety for the load on the bolts u can calculate an appropriate number specific to each joint.

And there are always FEA programs to double check yourself.

This is where i really am strugging now, if i ignore the gussets top and bottom and treat it as a simple cantilevered beam, how do i go about finding the stresses the bolts will be subject to.

sorry if i sound like a simpleton but this is quite new to me.